Lifestyle

Before asking for help (show us what you can do without it)

Consider if you’ve already been leaving a trail. If everyone around town already knows of your great work.

The competition runs long. Everyone wants what you want. Why do I need to help… you?

By the time you ask for help, you should have proven that you can keep your promises. That you’ve been able to achieve lots, without much. That if I don’t help you, I’m the one that’s going to miss out on a grand opportunity to support the next big thing.

Asking for help prematurely can dent a relationship. One that might’ve worked out had you waited. Wait it out, and ask:

  1. Do I want quick results to satisfy my current needs? (Don’t ask for help if you do)
  2. What do people gain by helping me out? Do they lose weight? What’s the perks?
  3. What have I done so far? What’s on my resume?
  4. Have I failed? (at least three times?)
  5. Who else agrees that this is great? (Outside of family and close friends)
  6. What do I expect? To get rich? (Hint: You should only expect to form a long-lasting connection, otherwise you run the risk of ruining what could’ve been a great catalyst to your success)
  7. Why am I asking for help?
Standard

2 thoughts on “Before asking for help (show us what you can do without it)

  1. Pingback: Kareem Taylor | Voice Actor | Five rules for sending an email to someone important

  2. Pingback: Five rules for sending an email to someone important « Kareem's Blog

Leave a Reply

